IS Department


Infected Machines Suck

Posted in Network,Programming by Brian Russell on January 30, 2008

If you have any error detection/capturing on your site, you will probably come across one of the most annoying things on the Internet….Zombie Computers.

Right now, every few days, one of the computers on this list is hitting my site with a bad URL parameter producing an error in our web application.  This doesn’t hurt anything, but it sure is annoying. 

I will have to go into the code and explicitly check for the bad parameter and redirect the requester.  Maybe I should redirect the specific attack I am getting to the Wikipedia site.  That would be fun.

It is good practice to fix these types of errors, but normal people won’t see it.  I am only fixing this to give me satisfaction that I serve them up any page I want and so I don’t continue getting error emails every few days.

Leave a Reply

