IS Department


The Switch – Part 1 – Getting Ready

Posted in Mac by Brian Russell on April 17, 2007

I have done what I always thought would be the unthinkable, I am switching to a Mac.  This was a hard decision, but one I have been pondering for quite a while.  Ever since Macs were switched over to use x86 hardware and Boot Camp was announced, my view point has changed dramatically about the Mac.  I used to think there would be no reason to get a Mac, but Apple showed me otherwise.  They introduced Boot Camp, the awesome Mac Book Pro hardware, and a price that was comparable with similarly featured PCs.  Combine those with my dissappointment with Vista, and everything added up to a  switch.

I plan to write about my experiences with the Mac as I get going with it, but right now I am waiting for the hardware to arrive within the next couple days.  My co-workers will probably get frustrated at me for filling our blog with Mac stuff, but it will be like a train wreck for them; they know they shouldn’t look, but they just won’t be able to help themselves. 🙂

Since I am waiting impatiently for it to arrive in the mail, I decided to look around the web for some good information about switching over.  Here is what I found (good and bad):

Switched to a Mac — and back

The Cons of Switching from Windows to Mac. Ten Quick Ones.

Windows expert to Redmond: Buh-bye

Thomas Hawk Buys a Mac

How to Switch to the Mac

I will post more if I come across them…

4 Responses to 'The Switch – Part 1 – Getting Ready'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Switch – Part 1 – Getting Ready'.


  1. […] I started this series of posts with part 1 which included some useful links.  I suggest you take a look at them if you are thinking about switching yourself. […]


  2. […] – Part 3 – The Negatives This is an ongoing tale of my switch from Windows to the Mac. Read Part 1 and Part 2 for more context about this […]


  3. […] Bellware, who ironically is a MVP with Microsoft, says he is Free At Last, Free At Last.  I understand what he means, do […]


  4. I like wordpress for having so many free, quality themes. But even with so many quality free wordpress themes there is still a market for paid themes, in fact, I’ve been selling wordpress themes for the past couple of years. If you’re thinking about creating wordpress themes to sell them I recommend you spend a lot of time making sure its a high quality theme that includes great design, social bookmarking, plugin integration and regular updates. Users download/buy a theme because they like how it looks, or because they see a good base for there project. It’s also vital that the theme looks fine in all the latest browsers. Just my two cents on paid wordpress themes.


Leave a Reply

