IS Department


Free Subversion Hosting

Posted in Programming by Brian Russell on February 19, 2007

I am trying to find a place to host my source code since my web host (webhost4life) doesn’t currently support source control.  My preference is to use Subversion, and since I am already paying for a web host, it should be cheap and/or free.

I found two contenders so far:

https://www.bountysource.com/ – This one is interesting.  If you like the idea that your source code is open source and that people will pay you money to add features, then this is your place.  I wanted a private repository, so this isn’t going to work for me.

http://unfuddle.com – Messages, Milestones, Tickets (features, bugs) and Source Control for free.  The catch is the free account is 15 MB and only 1 user.  This isn’t bad if you don’t have much source code to host and their is only one person on your team (you).  For $9 more a month, you step up to 3 users and 250 MB of space.  I am not sure that is worth it.  The good news is that if you try it out and don’t like it, you can download all your stuff easily (thank you 37 Signals for cluing websites into this).

I will continue to look, but it looks like I will try out Unfuddle for now.

3 Responses to 'Free Subversion Hosting'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Free Subversion Hosting'.

  1. Floyd Price said,

    wwww.CodeSpaces.com is an online development and collaboration platform that features Secure Subversion Hosting, Issue Tracking, Project Management and much more.

    Free plans are availible.

  2. Rxd said,

    I know this post is old, but if you are STOL paying for svn, check out http://www.xp-dev.com

    It has 1000mb for free!

  3. C. G. Brown said,

    ProjectLocker now offers free Subversion hosting, Git hosting, and Trac hosting, as well as a number of integrations and features to support a complete development process.


Leave a Reply

