IS Department


Do you treat the people you support like idiots?

Posted in Uncategorized by Brian Russell on January 17, 2007

I have been thinking about this issue since I read this post.  The post made me feel a bit sheepish about some of my past conversations with other IT workers when we are talking about users.  Even saying the word ‘users’ in that last sentance feels a bit demeaning.

After reading the post, I then moved over to look at what the Slashdot community responded with.  It was easy for me to identify with the points of view expressed in the comments section, but I still felt that people were missing the underlying message he was trying to convey.

Of course, since this is the web, the original author responded to the critisim of the Slashdot responses with another post.

No matter what your stance is on the subject, you have to admit that we IT workers would not have a job without the people we serve.  The network administrators wouldn’t have a network if users didn’t need it.  Developers wouldn’t have an application to write if the users didn’t need it.  Support personal wouldn’t have people to support without technology in the users hands.

The IT profession is not above having to provide good customer service.  I am going to try to change the way I interact with my customers in the future in order to provide them with more respect and build a better trust level.  I challenge everyone else to do this as well.

Leave a Reply

